Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to RWD cars, so please excuse me if this is a dumb question. What is the purpose of having an aluminum driveshaft?

·
Super Moderator
27,649 Posts
On these cars, the rotating mass difference is effectively canceled out by the increased diameter. The beauty of them is they change the driveline critical speed (vibration range) so they help reduce the vibes many people get when they go to aftermarket gears. Do a search here on "critical speed" for some good posts and links.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I got a Ford Racing D shaft

Not much of a difference at all.
Not worth the retail price of $150.00!!!!

I got mine for $60-so I didn't get riped on that bad.

Save your money for something else in my opinion.

·
Super Moderator
27,649 Posts
Re: I got a Ford Racing D shaft

JON RIO said:
Not much of a difference at all.
Not worth the retail price of $150.00!!!!

I got mine for $60-so I didn't get riped on that bad.

Save your money for something else in my opinion.
They make a world of difference to gear-related vibration issues. If you didn't have any of those then...well...what did you expect?If you bought it expecting a performance gain, well...P.T. Barnum said something once.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Well excuse me............

50 proof didn't ask a direct question-So I gave my experiance with it-which is better that notting-right?

Also, in adds for this product....They almost always claim to improve engine performance to some degree.

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #7