Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to this 5-speed thing,(I've always been an auto guy), and my T5 went south. I'm on a tight budget & my mechanic is a good tranny builder. I do not intend on my car ever developing beyond 13.0 flat E.T's since it willl continue to be my daily driver. I believe the T5 will do fine...am I correct? What will hurt it the easiest? Slicks? Hp & torque range you guy's feel or have experienced as safe? I know the factory ratings; I just want to hear it from experienced people as to what anyone here on the Corral thinks.....thanx in advance.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
I don't think slicks will hurt your T-5. I do however feel that powershifting will. You will be fine using a T-5 for a 12 or 13 sec daily driver. The weight of the vehicle and the lack of gear in the rear contribute greatly to the strain placed on the tranny....James

·
Registered
4,628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanx for the reply....I was thinking I'd be ok but lack the experience with the 5.0 "revolution". I'm still awaiting the news on my trans teardown. The good news, i think anyway, is that the trans started working properly after the shop got it's hands on it. So, I'm thinking, the damage should be ...Opppps, I'm talking to him now & it's at least a grand...gotta go......

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
I've been running 12's through mine, and currently on the brink of 11's, for a couple years now, while launching very hard on slicks, and I still drive it every nice day of the week. I do NOT powershift any gear at all, and I think that's why it is still alive.

Shift it fast, but do not powershift, and it will live, hopefully:)

·
Registered
4,628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·