Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know much about trucks, but I'm wanting to buy a Ford and a trailer to move my mustangs around occasionally. Otherwise, the truck would be my daily driver, so cant' be horrible with gas.

looking to find a good used Ford, less than 10 years old

wondering if anybody had any comments. I'm a novice about towing requirements

thanks

steve

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
any idea what the tow weight of a Mustang and covered trailer is? Not a big trailer, just enough trailer to take the mustang.

thanks
steve

·
Registered
4,225 Posts
I've got an open flat deck 18' trailer and it alone is 1500lbs, plus my 3000lb car. With loaded toolbox and such I'd think it comes in just under 5000lbs loaded. An enclosed trailer will naturally weigh even more.

My tow vehicle is just an F150 with of all things a 300 6 cylinder. I've swapped gears and added some rear suspenion and it handles it surprisingly well. I woudl prefer a bigger engine though and in all likelyhood when finances allow I'll be grabbing at least an F250. Currently I do short runs (1 hour or so each way), long distance traveling would worry me with such alight duty truck.

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
Steve93, I just picked up(1 month ago) a 15 foot trailer w/dovetail, slide out ramps, open center, 4-wheel brakes from Econo-trailer located in Glen Gardner NJ for $1650 new. If you want the # let me know. Right off of Rt 31

Trailer weight is 1350, my car weighs 2800 for a combined 4150.

I tow with a 97 Explorer w/ the 4.0 sohc motor and i have a brake controller also.

·
US Air Force Active Duty
1,393 Posts
This is my rig. Yes it's a Chevy. I got a good deal on it and it has been very dependable. The truck has a brake controller for the trailer brakes.

·
Registered
208 Posts
We pull ours with a 99 chevy 3500 series. Pulls it like a feather.

·
Registered
241 Posts