Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
1,279 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was planning on getting a set of AFR 165's for my rebuild project. For now, ill be using the stock cam and I wanted to know if AFR's would be a waste of time and money. Or would trick flow head be a better choice? The car will remain N/A for now and my future plans will be to install a Kenne Bell blower.

Ive heard that teh AFR heads have aot of potential to them and the stock cam isnt going to show what they can do. On the other hand, there TFS heads and im not really all the familiar with them.

I had done quit a bit of research on AFR heads and decided that I would get them, but once I started thining about it, are they really worth the $1275?

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
I have no real experience in this area, but the AFR's will work MUCH better with the stock cam then the TFS.

The TFS have much larger ports (read: less velocity) and get flow numbers close to the AFRs. The AFR's have smaller better designed intake ports that flow a lot of air for there size, excelent velocity and flow.

someone stomp me if you think the above is wrong.

·
Registered
5,015 Posts
Both would show about the same dyno #'s.

·
Registered
407 Posts
It depends which model TFS head you're talking about. AFR 165's aren't a bad choice, but if you do get a blower on the engine, and you passed on the less expensive TFS Twisted Wedge, you'll wanna kick yourself for it. In the end, the TFS will cost about the same as the AFR's, if you also swap pushrods and rockers, but they'll easily outperform the 165's and are only slightly outperformed by the 185's(for comparison).

I've had both and can say the overall difference is almost completely unnoticeable on the dyno or the track. We're talking about 3-5hp more with 185's than TW's.