Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been bothered by this rasp from my engine, i don't know what it is, only comes from the passanger side and it starts around 3500-4500 or i can't hear it maybe longer. Well i re-did all my rockers, and re-sealed my headers. But it was still there, so i started playing around with the timing, i usually have it a 17 degrees, but after play around i've figured out it doesn't happen if i put it back to 12 degrees, I'm try to figure out how this could happen after a night of getting on it, what could have changed ? Help!!!!!! I don't to be running 12, when the life of the car has been set at 17!! I don't know?????????????

PLease Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
the sound

I'VE NEVER HEARD A PING sound from my car, the sound is like a higher trebbile sound, like a rapid clasp, or a crackle, it seems to go with the rpms rising, could a bad wire be affected different from two different timing settings ? And it doesn't do it while i rev it with no load.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
286 Posts
sounds like detonation to me. Ecspecially when it does it with the timing up and not down.

·
Registered
122 Posts
That's detonation (also known as pinging). It will sound like rocks bouncing around in a can as you accelerate hard or put a load on the engine.
Back your timing off to where you don't hear the ping anymore and then back off another 2 degrees to be safe. The car can still be detonating without you actually hearing it. That's why I recommend the additional 2 degrees. 17 sounds like way too much. 12-14 will probably be about where you end up.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ttt yeah but how does it differ