Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
564 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Beater 04 Mach 1 I bought to do some Auto X and TT possibly with.

Car is stock except for catback,H&R Race springs ,Saleen race craft bilsteins in the rear and 03 Cobra bilsteins in the front.

We have no Cam here.STU,ESP,FS are pretty much what I have to choose from.Looking to hopefully be somewhat competitive without dumping too much $ into this car (buying another car so...)

·
Registered
62 Posts
Your springs aren't legal for FS. But, if you're just starting out in autocross, FS is the most cost-effective way to improve your (autocross) driving skills without spending a ton of money. Keeping up with cars in STU and ESP can require a much bigger investment in the car. Here's a video I put together about the mods I would make if I were building a 79-04 Mustang to compete in Street Category:

There are also videos on my channel that offer autocross driving tips (I'm an instructor). If you have any questions, please ask here or in the comments on YouTube.

·
Registered
564 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks WH.Ya I can’t own a mustang that’s factory ride height,So FS is probably out.

I guess mentioning a budget would help.I don’t mind throwing another 2-3k at the car outside of wheels/tires for it.

Any criticism or tips are appreciated

·
Registered
62 Posts
Thanks WH.Ya I can’t own a mustang that’s factory ride height,So FS is probably out.

I guess mentioning a budget would help.I don’t mind throwing another 2-3k at the car outside of wheels/tires for it.

Any criticism or tips are appreciated
I'm happy to help. I have a couple of questions that will help me suggest which Category and mods will be best for you...

1. Are you just starting out in autocross/performance driving, or do you already have performance driving experience?

2. Which class (STU or ESP) has more competitors at events in your area?