Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting a irregular(not exhaust) rattling noise like somethings loose under the hood. I looked underneath the car and under the hood but can't figure it out (i'm NOT a mechanic) could it be the struts? 46k on the car. What part could be broken on them to cause this and still have normal steering? And how could it be both at once, or does it just feel like it's both when it's only one thats messed up. Any help is appreciated as usual.

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
If it just sounds like a piece of metal banging around under your car you should check the dust shields behind the rotors. Man, I can't get mine to stop making that dang noise. I forgot to take them off when I put my new struts on. Maybe next time I change springs I'll remember.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Good thought but no. It's definately something heavier than that. It sounds like the strut brace is banging around but it's tight. I don't want a garage to find something simple and then tell me I need new struts. If they tell me it's something simple that would be great but that doesn't happen around here too much.

·
Registered
146 Posts
have the brakes been worked on recently??

when a shop replaced my pads they did not put the anti rattle clips back in the calipers. it made a loud clack clack sound over every bump

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just had my Cobra brakes from my old car put on this car...I'm going to find out. Thanks for your help, I'll let you know.

·
Registered
146 Posts
hey wildyellow,

do you get a click or pop when turning the wheel at slow speeds or when the car is stopped?

well here is my suspension stories.