Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my dilema:

I just bought a 96 Cobra and will be putting a Vortech on it asap. This is going to be used as a street car and see very few passes at the drag strip. Right now I have 2 options:

1. Vortech S-trim and T-rex fuel pump

2. Vortech Strim w/aftercooler and T-rex

The difference is about $1000 and I need to know if it is worth it? Will I be upset if I dont go with the aftercooler and want to add more hp in the future?

Also, what should I do about the rear-end? Just put in gears, or go with a complete posi setup with the 31 spline? What are the chances I will break something just going with the gears?

Thanks

·
Registered
36 Posts
My understanding is that the vortech aftercooler is air:water and therefore heats up very quickly on the street. I really don't think it is that much of an advantage on the street and probably not worth the money. I am no expert, but I know I have read this numerous times

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Do a search for my friend Steve (BlownMystic1). He had a Strim with Aftercooler and put down 467/392 with a BBK catted H, dual 62mm TB, and a JMS mail order chip. This was with 9.5psi. From what he's told me, an aftercooler is worth it.

John

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have a 97 Cobra with the S-Trim and Aftercooler and I love the combo. Keep in mind you will need a battery re-location kit...here is a pic of my set up...I had to cut some of the pic out in order to use my image host but you can see some of the aftercoolers reservoir on the right side. I think it is absolutely worth it. My car is also a daily driver...in Texas.

97 Black Cobra