Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i recently got a very good deal on some aluminum heads.
they appear to have a groove for an o-ringed headgasket, but i don't have any experience with them. how deep is the groove? do i have to buy the $97 ea. head gaskets?
note my handle, i'm a cheapazz!
even with these heads, my ride probably won't make 300hp.

·
Registered
379 Posts
Doesn't the block have to be o-ringed too? I've no experience with this just thought it did and now I'm curious...

jgp

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
from what i have read while searching this forum on the subject, i gathered that either the head could be cut OR the block could be cut OR both.

if this is wrong, please tell me before i screw something up!

·
Registered
2,661 Posts
Buy the TFS oring gasket kit. It's like $100, and comes with intake, header, and the oringed head gaskets. I can't believe more people do this, than but $200 headgaskets, and they are the same. Fel-pro makes all the gaskets in the TFS kit.

Later, Greg(XSR)

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
badboss,
that's more like it!
where can i find that kit?
summit?
parts store?

btw, my block doesn't need to be cut, right?!?

·
Registered
5,236 Posts