Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to small block Fords, not to engine repair in general for context in where I'm coming from. I have edited this post down for clarity.

All I need is to find a valve spring compressor that works with stock, pedestal type E7 heads that are in my 1994 Mustang GT and can work to install Trick Flow TFS-2500100 (dual rate) valve springs.
Coil Camera accessory Household hardware Wood Auto part

I can't use the little wine press style because they only grab the outer spring. They'll remove the stock ones just fine but not install the new ones which have an inner spring.

I can't use the lever type that's made for 3/8" studs because stock 94 GT heads are pedestal type and I'm pretty sure all the 3/8" studs use a 7/16" bottom that won't thread into my heads.

If anyone has any useful recommendations I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

·
Registered
400 Posts
I use a Gearwrench 2078 spring compressor. Its inexpensive, easy to use on a single spring and available by numerous sellers. If your new springs are stock type replacement, just use oem type seals.
Thick wall pushrods are overkill unless you have a "big" cam in the future with aluminum heads.

With the lower intake removed, why not pull the heads and do some "gasket matching" of the heads and lower cobra intake?

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think I might need to get the kind of compressor which uses leverage off the head, because my replacement valve springs are the Trick Flow ones which have an inner and outer spring.

The spring compressors which grab the spring itself would only grab the outer spring.

However when I look at lever-action valve spring compressors like Moroso 62370 and the dozen or so nearly identical competing products they're all made for 3/8" studs and I have stock E7 heads with pedestal mounts..