Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be painting my '82 GT this summer. I am pretty new to painting. I was just at Sams Club and they had a one-time-only special on a DVAP (Devilbiss) 43 piece spray gun kit. The part number on the box and owner's manual is SGK10. The kit includes a gravity feed gun, a touch up gun, a short air line, a viscosimeter cup, a blow gun w 3 nozzles, a spare 2.0 mm needle and tip etc. With tax it was just under $75. From what I understand Devilbiss makes a halfway decent gun. I Know Binks is what all the pros use, but I'm a newbie at this and I dont' want to spend $500 on a gun I'll probably paint two cars with. Is this a good beginners set-up? Thanks in advance, Frank

BTW in case anyone is wondering about how my one-piece floor swap is going, I cut the entire floor out of a '93 notch last summer with a spot-weld cutter. It fit out through the windshield opening. I still have to cut out the floor in the '82 and weld the new one in. I'll post my results when the weather warms up and I graduate from Grad School.

·
Registered
4,225 Posts
The only thing that strikes me odd is the very large tip. that 2.0mm piece will be hosing the paint on. Great for primers and thicker paint but it's a bit large for spraying metallic basecoats for my liking. I like to see a 1.4 or 1.6, it's fairly easy to adapt a spraying style with either of those.

Not to say that that gun won't work well for you, it depends on what you want to do with it and I'm sure you can develop a decent feel for it. Just make sure to practice first.

Also that viscocity cup, you won't need it. Mix the paint in the proper ratios and it's good to go. It's an old tech way of doing things that really doesn't get used.

So it may be workable for you, just may not be ideal for all finishes.