Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm gonna be ordering a set of Edelbrock performer heads (60289's) for my 90 LX. I'm also buying my friends TFS street heat intake. I'm gonna leave the cam stock for now and get some 1.7 rr's to give it a bit more lift........ How involved is it to do a head/intake swap? I have never done this before. It all seems pretty straight forward, but is it relatively easy? Is it something that can be done in a day or two with basic hand tools? My friend who is selling my the intake said he will help me if needed. He has done a head/intake swap on his car more than once.

·
Banned
1,064 Posts
yea, a H/I swap isnt bad, plan for a good weekend if it's your first time, Intake is cake, maybe an hours, but heads you'll need a little more time... good luck

·
Registered
493 Posts
It can be done in a few hours. Its relatively simple if you know what your doing and have experience.

·
Banned
3,819 Posts
Its a lot easier than you may think. Keeping all the nuts and bolts seperate and labled is probably the only nerveracking thing th 1st time out. Most dificult part is getting the deck surface totally clean.

·
Registered
619 Posts
Just a thought, but if it were me I would put a cam in since your going to have your intake and heads off. It is much easier to just throw one in now (if your planning one in the future) and not have to worry about pulling your intake off again. Just my .02

·
Registered
2,121 Posts
It Depends on how Mechanically Talented you are. For some people its a 5 hour job, for some a nightmare.

Just make sure you have all the tools and that your not afraid to pull the distributer

·
Registered
97 Posts
The reason I don't want to get a cam as of now is because I heard they're a PIA to install with the motor in the car. I also need to pass emissions and don't want idle problems.

·
Registered
6,153 Posts