Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1989 Ford Mustang Lx 5.0 Convertible
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 89 Foxbody lx 5.0 convertible that for real has been peiced together.. has flat tappet cam firing order is 15426378 but has 5.0 ho block lol well my Distributor Cap has a wobble to it.. basically it would run like crap on backroads and hesitate under loads.. i taped it down really good and it fixed it.. you could tell a difference in the engine idle but pushing down on cap.. now i am just gonna buy a new distributor and been doing research.. whats some differences i should know.. what do i look for on my old distributor to tell.. im not a mechanic but i have been learning and will say this car always surprises everyone that looks at it even really good foxbody experts.. lol even bought new plugs for it and asked for 89 lx 5.0 plugs at autozone cuz thats what the block is for.. put them in and relized that my threads are longer and the ones i bought wouldnt fit.. so yeah... also the drivetrain says 80 mustang on it.. has an 8.8 rear end and i think a c4 trans not sure also it is an automatic.. lol so anyhelp would work im also getting a code 91 when i test codes using koer but did a cylinder balance test and came back woth 9 meaning cylinders all good.. smh 154 firing order using an a9p ecu and the codes are telling me its all good... oof this fox outsmarts people and is slick and sly...

·
Registered
24,572 Posts
how do you mean wobble in the cap?

your ecm injector firing order is for HO

·
Registered
1989 Ford Mustang Lx 5.0 Convertible
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how do you mean wobble in the cap?

your ecm injector firing order is for HO