Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
US Air Force Active Duty
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered one today from Summit, since I am ready to drop kick my Griffin Universal (long story!). I decided to go with the FMS one since the stock fan shroud should bolt up to it (it won't on my dumb Griffin) and I shouldn't have any clearance problems (hopefully). I've been fighting cooling demons for the past 2 years, well I figured if I throw enough money (and time) at it hopefully I can cure this.
This July when I come home on leave I will tear apart my top end to replace head gaskets (thinking of trying those ROL ones) and swap my cam for an F-303 and some new rockers. I'll be installing a police clutch fan with stock shroud & overflow, Edelbrock water pump, the FMS Aluminum radiator, FMS silicone hoses, FMS Police heater core restrictor, new '93 Cobra water pump pulley, new 180-degree high flow thermostat, new radiator cap, 70% distilled water/30% anti-freeze & Redline Water Wetter, and to top it all off a Summit Oil Cooler. If the car still runs hot after this I may shoot myself!
The only reason I can really think of for it running so hot now is the possibility of one of the head gaskets being on wrong...I had my heads installed by someone else since I was too busy with a work related upgrade school that week to do them myself. I had no problems with my old ported stock heads and running hot, I was only using a Pep-Boys 3 core radiator and an Autozone 16" electric fan (constant on) but when I had the new Edelbrock Performer 6037 heads installed my cooling system was not up to task. I upgraded to the Universal Griffin radiator that Summit sells, and a much larger and powerful electric fan, but it only helped a little, and didn't keep the car from overheating on hot days, or in slow stop & go traffic with the A/C on. I'm hoping that by basically replacing EVERYTHING again, I will solve this problem!