Registered
4,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My A/C was only staying cold for a day before the freon would leak out...:(

Got a few estimates...
First one was $700 parts and labor
Second one was $800
Last one was $900 :curses:

Even though I'm a mechanic (not on cars though), I dreaded pulling the complete instrument panel out to get to the evaporator "box".....

Not as bad as I thought....
Certainly not a cakewalk either...lol. This was a job I was unfamiliar with, as I've never had to do one before. The labor estimate times ranged from 5.8 hours, to 8 hours for the entire job. I did it in less than five, so I was pretty happy. Even happier that the A/C blows nice and cold again....:)

Not much tech in this post, but just a word of advice...

Don't be afraid. If you have a good manual, just about any job can be done at home by you, IF you have all your basic tools and some mechanical ability....One of the first things I buy when I get a new vehicle, is a Chilton's manual, AND a Haynes manual for it. Sometimes one is better than the other for certain jobs.

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
Bob-

Great work fixing that yourself, although I am more interested in how you figured out that the evaporator was leaking? Where are the tell tale signs? My AC leaks out quickly and I dont even know where to begin.

TIA
Ben

·
Registered
3,249 Posts
Did you think about changing out the heater core while you were in there???? Not trying to jinx you.

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
BenW said:
Bob-

Great work fixing that yourself, although I am more interested in how you figured out that the evaporator was leaking? Where are the tell tale signs? My AC leaks out quickly and I dont even know where to begin.

TIA
Ben

Check all of the hose connections. A good telltale sign of a leak is oily wetness at a connection. Mine didn't have that. Everything looked great. At that point you need someone with a freon leak detector to "sniff out" the leak...