Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there such thing as a spray on hardner??? Can you put on the resin and then spray on a form of hardner with a sprayer???

I was thinking about designing a custom fiberglass speaker encloser.. I've been wanting to learn how to work with fiberglass for a long time... my idea was to make an armature and then soak some fabric in resin, wring out the excess, then stretch it over the form then apply the hardner. I want the outside layer to be smooth so I don't have to sand and use filler to get a good finish... then I would layer it up from the inside..

Or would it be better the dip the fabric in resin with hardner in it then quickly stretch it over and secure it... or would it be best to do it the old fashion way of stretching the material and brush it will resin/hardner all at one time..

Remember I am a Newbie at this. I love working with my hands and can weld, and metal cast aluminum and bronze so this isn't a project that's over my head.

Also where to get fiberglass.. both woven and chopped?? Boat supply warehouse?? Where else? I know I can get it in small quantities at Walmart and Home Depot.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I don't really understand what you mean? Most speaker boxes are made of wood for sound.