Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll start off by saying this is my first time on forums so bare with me lol.

I bought my 3rd mustang, a 89' notchback 5.0 (carb) :salute: a couple months ago. I've spent a bunch of time since I bought it correcting some engine issues. But I'm needing some opinions before I just start throwing money at the drivetrain. I'm pretty new to working on cars so I bought this one for the learning experience and boy I got what I paid for. Here are some specs on the drivetrain.

t5 trans
8.8 rear end
4.10 gears
welded spider gears (limited slip going in soon)
stock driveshaft

Here are the issues.
When going down the road in say 4th or 5th gear. When barely on the throttle (like seriously barely touching it) the car feels like its clunking really bad but if I give it more throttle it stops the clunk. You can feel it in the shifter handle. It's really only noticeable when in 4th or 5th but its really bad in 5th. It also has a bad vibration at highway speeds and only gets worse the faster I go. 60 mph in this car is crazy sketchy. One thing I cant understand is that when I'm going around 55 mph and throw it in neutral the vibration is even more apparent and kinda goes away a little when I'm acting like I'm putting it back into gear, but once back in gear the vibration starts again. I will say that I'm not sure who welded the spider gears and I do not know if they had a clue what they were doing. All rear end mods were done by the previous owner. I don't know if these problems are coming from the rear. Only thing I've touched is the engine.

Anyone ever have these problems? I would really appreciate all advice!!

·
Registered
35,861 Posts