Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
1987 Ford Mustang Gt
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Like my name suggests I’m very new to automotive. I purchased the car (stock, 88 ,200km GT) last year, knew it needed work and I wanted to learn so I was okay with doing the work. Drove it around a few times and had no issues with overheating.

The engine was covered in oil and grease so I knew I would have to redo a bunch of gaskets. So I pulled out the engine, dismantled it, removed old gasket surface and redid the gaskets based on a bunch of YouTube videos. Reassembled the engine and put it back into the car. Filled up all the coolant, gas and oil. Started the car up and it was running (shocked). At this point celebrated for about 10-15mins until I noticed coolant puddling above the timing chain cover. Started to look into this more and noticed that my oil had turned milky. Thought it could have been the lower intake gasket so I replaced the lower intake gasket + thermostat housing gasket. After hooking it all back up and replacing the fluid and filters noticed that the fluid was milky once again. Also noticed a bunch of water coming down the drain plug when loosening it. I’m not noticing it overheating when I have it running for 10-15 mins straight.

Trying to figure out where to start with troubleshooting the issue. Could it be the head gaskets? If so, what’s the best way to determine this? Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
If you did all those gaskets like head gaskets and intake gaskets all at the same time and then put back together and didn't fill and refill the radiator and cooling system and burp the cooling system of air bubbles multiple times before driving it will blow the head gaskets if you drove it with air bubbles in the system. That OEM tools vacuum coolant fill tool system is amazing.

·
Registered
1987 Ford Mustang Gt
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·