Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
848 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my bullit suspension all over the living room floor and my haynes manuel, trying to make sense of it all. These have to be the most awkward instructions I have ever read. Some one tell me its not as hard and confuseing as thse instructions sound. Any way my question is do I need to rent a tie rod end puller? The manuel makes it sound like I do, when it says " disconnect the tie -rod end from the steering knuckle' Then it says 'SEE SECTION 15" Which is the section on tie-rod removal, it says to disconnect the tie-rod end from spindle.??? I have never done any suspension stuff before, any pointers on the install? any other special tools or proceedures?
thanks
Jon

·
Registered
865 Posts
You got instructions...? Mine didn't.

Many options for doing this,

Option #1
I did it a couple of weeks ago and did not remove my tie rod ends. Instead, I rented a spring compressor from pep boys. Once you have the strut out of the way, put the spring compressor on, won't take much and remove the spring. You will have to compress the new one far enough that you can turn it to line it up the end of the spring with the indention in the a-arm.

Option #2
I have heard others did it by removing the bolts in the a-arm and then using 2 jack stands to put it back once the spring is in.

Once you take the old out, it will be a little more obvious. The only instructions I got were the ones that came with my MM CC's, they were a lot of help.

SN95GT50

·
Registered
848 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Actually mine came without instructions as well. Just going off the standard spring and shock intallation instructions in my Haynes manuel.
Your option #1 sounds the best. How long did it take you to complete?. Do you think the CC plates are really needed? Sure is alot of extra bits and pieces with my bullit suspension did you use everything?
thanks
jon

·
Registered
865 Posts