Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
After searching all day on what exactly i need to rebuild a 4v, i decided to look at shortblocks all of which are going to be around $3,000

From my knowledge what i would need is:

Block bored .030" over
Rods
Pistons (with Rings and wristpins)
Rod Bearings
Rod Bolts
New Gaskets

Is there anything else i am going to need? (i.e. billit oil pump gears)

Also can someone explain balancing and blueprinting to me? im a bit of a novice so please bare (bear?) with me. The pistons i were looking at are all balanced within 2.5 grams of eachother, is this good? bad?

Thanks in advance

Edit: Also can you give me a ballpark estimate on getting the block bored, and blanced (If Necessary?)

·
Registered
184 Posts
yea some one help us out here im going to have to pull mine out to really soon b/c of it knocking, thats why i said us. so i need to decide which way is cheaper.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Unless your both highly skilled in engine building I'd suggest buying one. The mod motor isnt easy like the old 5.0s.
Im getting a new DOHC shortblock installed at X2C Motorsports now that my engine spun a bearing.

http://www.x2cmotorsports.com

Call for pricing on the DOHC block - 818.901.8000

·
Registered
461 Posts
i need the shortblock done in my cobra no 6 piston said goodbye, the price i was quoted was 3.000 and the parts were quality name brands, seems to be the going price for a decent shortblock.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Unless you have access to a machine shop building your own shortblock really doesn't save you all that much. The assembly charge is minimal. Its the charges that incur from the prepping of the block like boreing/resleaving, decking, honing, exc. that add up ontop of parts.

·
Registered
104 Posts