Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i know everyone has their own opinion about everything but some here tend to think the BOSS 302's and the 351 clevelands weren't or aren't that fast, i tend to differ. i've owned a 70 BOSS 302 and had several friends with Mach 1's with 351 4V and i always thought they were pretty quick. since i sold it years ago i never got to pull it up to a red light with one of the late models to see how it compared. i know i'm pretty much "old school" but was wondering what some owners of some BOSS's and 351 4V's think ? i'm new to the new ford hi-performance but recently purchased a 95 GT and was in the 94-95 tech forum and a member wanted to know the differences in the regular 302 and the BOSS 302 and several members thought it pretty stupid to want to build one and it ended up in a debate. any opinions on how they compare today?

·
Registered
35 Posts
If I understand you want to know how a Boss 302 compares performance wise to a new Mustang 4.6?

Without a doubt the Boss 302 compares poorly. Magazines of the time put the Boss 302 at about high 14's in the quarter while the new Mustangs are high 13'2/low 14's.

The new engines also get much better fuel economy and incredibly lower emissions.

Of course, having said that, there is no comparison for the cool factor of a solid lifter cam on a Boss 302 :)

·
Registered
264 Posts
I've got a 91 LX 5.0 and a 1970 Mach1 with a 351- 4V. I think that the 91 is a lot faster. I still love the Mach though!

·
Registered
156 Posts
pprince said:
If I understand you want to know how a Boss 302 compares performance wise to a new Mustang 4.6?

Without a doubt the Boss 302 compares poorly. Magazines of the time put the Boss 302 at about high 14's in the quarter while the new Mustangs are high 13'2/low 14's.

The new engines also get much better fuel economy and incredibly lower emissions.