Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to swap my 4R70W in my 96 for a 5 speed this winter.

I have a hit on a nice TR-3650. Is there any reason I should pick this tranny over a T-45?

Also, this is my first time buying a used transmission. Any pointers as to what I should look for?

Thanks.

·
Registered
30 Posts
went with a tr3650 when I converted my 96 gt, cross member mods needed. If I remember correctly I made a plate to compensate and used the tranny mount from the automatic. It would prolly be easier to go for the t-45 plus there is some sentiment that the t-45s are a better unit, less problematic.
but I cant really say as I have never owned a stang with a t-45. My 03 obviously has a tr3650 and it shifts like butter.

IMHO its hard to tell when buying a used manual tranny or any tranny for that matter. I guess just make sure there is not a lot of slop on the input shaft. Turn the shaft noticing any roughness as it rotates, look at the bearing retainer and make sure there are no gouges and have the owner install a shifter and check that you can get all the gears.

A5 speed swap is a nice little winter project, as long as you are in a garage.
If memory serves I had to buy the 5 speed harness and swap the auto harness out.

·
Registered
797 Posts
you need a computer from a manual car and you need a manual transmission harness and the manual pedal assembly

·
Registered
30 Posts
If your car has a gear style vehicle speed sensor you will need a trans with the same style sensor,

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
not necessarily true.

you can get a speedcal unit from dallas mustangs to convert to the vss signal.
but that just another reason to go with the t-45, however if you are getting the 3650 for next to nothing it may be worth it. The S/C unit is around 100 bux

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)