Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at getting a Autotranny stang for my son....he's
not ready for a 5spd. Anyway here are my questions:

C-4 with a shift kit and small stall converter worth the money?

What gears in the rear with a C-4 I figure 3.55?

Is the C-4 a pretty good tranny for daily driving?

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Without the overdrive I don't think a C4 is the best candidate for a daily driver, even with 3.55 gears. Highway driving is where you notice it the most since the engine is reving pretty high. I would think that an AOD would work fine with a shift kit and converter but I have no first hand knowledge on how well the AOD's work out.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hummmmmmm I was thinking 3.42 or 3.55 @ the most.....aod
huh. I have heard they are crap....heavy....expensive. It does
allow you to run 4.10's. c4 third gear is 1.1 right....thats like the
4th in a 5spd right. I'm just scatching my head try to find him
a starter car that can take a licking and keep on ticking. I know
a 3 spd is hard to find the right combo in rear gears.

ANYONE else have any idea's I'm wide open for suggestion.

We have not bought the car yet but is easy to find auto 5.0's
that need tranny work cheap.

·
Registered
349 Posts
im looking into changing to a c-4 setup. I dont want to pull my 3.73's, so i plan on running a tall rear tire to help lower freeway revs, like a 275-60-15

yes, 3rd in a c-4 is like 4th in a stick, you can try diff tire combo's and rear gear and test it in 4th b4 you swap trannys

·
Registered
743 Posts
For a daily driver just get him an AOD and put a decent stall and shift kit in it. The C4 isn't as friendly on the street.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
OK new plan........dad gets a new tremec pulls the T45 out of the
cobra. Son gets aod to cut his teeth on then when it fails as
expected I install the T45 out of the cobra in the fox body.