Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’ve been contemplating this for a couple years now and don’t know if its wise to switch setups with my current engine combo. Car is mostly street driven. A change in drivability isn’t a concern, what I really would like to know is....will changing setups help a little or drastically hurt it on the TRACK?

Current setup is an N/A 302 with a T5 and a 26x10.5 slick. I’m worried a light assembly will kill rpm and power on launch.

Current clutch setup is a steel flywheel, super king cobra diaphragm and a Ram 6000 6-puck. The disk is shot and both flywheel & PP warped anyway so it’s time to decide.
(Weights according to manufactures)
Flywheel - 21lbs
Pressure P - 17.5lbs
Disk - 4.8lbs (I do have a 4000g scale and this is accurate)

So in total 43.3lbs

Here is what I am considering:

Fidanza aluminum flywheel, quartermaster 10.5” aluminum diaphragm, and the same Ram 6-puck
(Weights according to manufacturers)
Flywheel - 11lbs (w/out counterweights I’m assuming)
Pressure P - 10lbs
Disk - 4.8lbs

So in total w/50oz counterweight = 28.3lbs which is 15lbs lighter.
Total cost would be around $1,100

For only around $1,200 I could get into a SPEC mini twin with flywheel. Plus it has an adjustable counterweight so it could be reused when I change engine balance & move to a clutchless.
SPEC doesn’t specify weight but I seen it mentioned the entire setups are around 22lbs.

There’s also (2) 10.5 diaphragm setups from COBRA AUTOMOTIVE they claim only weigh 22.5lbs and one with a kevlar disk at 21lbs total with flywheel. They don’t specify if it’s for 50oz balance though. But the one is only $840!

Sorry for all the details but I just can’t find any other threads of someone with a similar engine combo as me changing to more than just an aluminum flywheel.

THANX!

·
Old timer
6,565 Posts
T5 transmission?

Light pressure plate assembly, shims and a 10 inch rag disc.