Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My father recently passed away and I inherited his 1970 Mercury Cougar with a 351C 4V.

We built another 1970 Cougar together many years ago after I graduated from college, so I know the car very well in terms of mechanical stuff, but we built first a 351W and then a 428 FE for that car.

I’m in a different season of life now, married with kids and busy career and not much money or time to spend on cars. The 428 in the old car had a lot of goodies and ran amazingly strong for a street engine, I loved that engine. But I’m thinking I want to keep the Cleveland closer to stock to keep the cost down.

If you were going to keep the original iron heads (I looked up the date codes, they are January 1970 castings, 4V closed chamber heads), how would you choose to freshen up this engine in terms of intake manifold, camshaft, etc.?

Another question I have is how good are the original Cleveland exhaust manifolds? I am up in the air on whether or not it would be worth the hassle and expense to switch to headers if I keep the original heads and keep the engine pretty mild.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
954 Posts
imo, the 4V/boss type heads are the only heads worth spending coin on (like replacing factory valves/converting to rocker studs) as they do have resale value, the 4V heads really like/need more CI (like 393ci strokers) if you can afford it. the edel air gap or blue thunder dual planes are good all round intakes with most street/strip cams, junk the factory exh manifolds, headers (2" preferred pipe) are Well worth the cost/hassle to install.

·
Registered
2,367 Posts