Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
who's using the 73 mm caliper on their 87-93 with their stock MC
how is your braking power with the 73's and stock MC. I will be upgrading MC at a later date but can I get away with the stock for awhile

·
Registered
436 Posts
Don't do it. You will lose almost all of your braking power. Just wait until you can change the MC. The stock MC can't push enough volume to the bigger calipers. They do make a big difference once you get a different MC in. I ran a 95 MC with the 73mm calipers and Lincoln Mark VII rear disk. Stopped pretty good.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
that's what I figured
Thanks

·
Registered
3,302 Posts
I've been running 73mm calipers with a stock m/c for 2 years now. My cars stops from 120+ mph just fine.

Yes, I do want to upgrade, I just haven't gotten around to it, yet.

·
Registered
6,623 Posts
I've been running round 3 years now with stock MC and 73mm calipers. No problems at all... Maybe I just got used to it.. I didn't notice any depletion in braking force but I did notice the pedal now grabs farther down to the floor than before...

·
Registered
5,126 Posts
Did you do any modifications to the stock MC at all or just left it as it was? I know on Matt's site he offers a part to help the stocker function better..

·
Registered
3,428 Posts
MYLITTLEHO said:
but I did notice the pedal now grabs farther down to the floor than before...
That is the problem. It requires 48% more pedal travel to create the same hydraulic pressure at the calipers.

The problem comes in the form of racing or a PANIC stop!

You push the pedal and your 48% hits the floorboards before the calipers can even come close to applying enough force to slow the car down. Forget locking up calipers! Your foot is on the floor and the car is not slowing down.

Bad situation to be in. Seems pretty dumb to risk that for a less than $100 MC swap.

·
Registered
3,302 Posts