Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I’ve acquired a 1994 mustang Cobra. The car has sat for 4 years and I’ve just recently got it running. It runs and drives fine but randomly it will just die and won’t start back up. It will just crank and crank but won’t fire. I primed the fuel pump over and over again and it will start after about 10 minutes but I’m not sure if it’s because I primed it or because it sat for awhile. I’m completely new to these cars and would appreciate any help.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1995 Mustang GT
1 Posts
If you know you’re getting fuel I would check your ignition. Have you checked the plugs, wires, cap and rotor? Another option is if it’s running too hot. I had that problem when the fan wasn’t turning on and I would get vapor lock.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Founder of corral.net
1,585 Posts
Things to check:
1) Clogged fuel filter / fuel pump pickup sock. Rust in the tank could clog the pickup area, or the fuel filter. As the car sits after stalling all the fuel returning as the line depressurizes can unclog it slightly which could allow fuel to flow again.

2) See if you're getting spark when it dies. If not then replace coil, plugs, wires, cap, rotor. The fact that it will drive for a bit makes me think this is a heat-related issue which sometimes points to things electronic.

3) Check for a bad ground or loose wiring. Make sure all ground straps are tight and are functioning. When the car is running do a "wiggle test" on various wiring harnesses to see if a loose connection is the source of the problem.

4) Run an EEC scan and see if there are any stored codes.

Reactions: 1994cobra illinois

·
Registered
977 Posts
That sounds very much like failing pickup coil and/or TFI module.
I won't say replace distributor right away, but check for spark when it won't start.
If no spark, likely one of those 2 components.