Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title suggests i have a 1966 Mustang with 1988 5.0 swapped in. I was having this problem where the car would die at idle when i turned the a/c.. typically only after the car was up to temp, before temp it would surge a bit with the a/c on and run alright but wouldn't sputter and die. The past week i have been doing some work to solve the problem, i took off he cold air intake, throttle body, and iac and cleaned them all, this did not help (much). I had noticed that the 5.0's idle was a bit high after the car got up to temp so i put a timing light on it and brought the idle down/timed it the motor sounded way better/relaxed. Now the car will sputter and die even without the a/c on but only after it is up to temp i am thinking this could be related to the a/c problem as well. Though maybe i set the idle/timing incorrectly as i am fairly new to mechanics. Me and my buddy who has been helping me (he knows a bit more than i) think that the problem could lie with the injectors as they are the ones that came with the motor when i got it or possibly a dirty fuel filter,we will be checking those in the next couple days. We also have checked the spark plugs and they are fairly new but are fouled and will need to be replaced, they have a decent bit of gasoline on them. The Mustang has a new Msd fuel pump, new msd coil/distributor cap, and new spark plug wires. I will also be flushing the radiator soon.

When i was cleaning the Throttle body i noticed gasoline on the gasket (pictured) not sure how it got there. it might be oil but i would have to double check. my buddy said it smelled like gas.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks in advance -Mike

)

·
Registered
383 Posts