Ford Mustang Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1987 Ford Mustang Gt
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,
I’m a complete newbie when it comes to body work/mechanics but I’m using this project to learn. I bought the car (87 GT) thinking the body/frame was in good condition. After purchasing it I realized the strut towers were starting to crumble and needed to be repaired. Just recently I noticed that the carpet was wet on the passenger side so decided to pull the carpet up to see what was going on. Noticed that the passenger side floor was rusted but not as bad as the drivers side. I started to cut out the rust without giving much thought Into how I would fix the floor. After I removed a certain part near the toe boards I got concerned that I might have cut out a brace that was supporting the frame. I need someone to identify the bracket behind the dead pedal and it’s purpose.

Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
9,386 Posts
Get the car up on stands and look underneath. Your front subframe ties into this area of the floor. You’ll likely need to drill out spot welds in this area to free that section of the floor when you cut it out.

I recommend doing some searching for previous threads on floor repair. Some have photos that show you the general structure with the floor removed in that area and it will help you out in knowing where to cut. You don’t want to cut into some of the structural pieces in that area

·
Registered
1987 Ford Mustang Gt
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Get the car up on stands and look underneath. Your front subframe ties into this area of the floor. You’ll likely need to drill out spot welds in this area to free that section of the floor when you cut it out.