Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally put some miles on my new block, around 3k (see sig) and I took her out yesterday to the track. This was probably my third time ever taking my car to the track so I'm pretty new to this drag racing. I ran some et drags 26x8 leaving around 4k. My best time was

R/T----.603
60'----1.971
330---5.839
1/8---8.884
MPH--78.91
N/A

I granny shifted around 6k since I still have the stock tranny and rear end. Are these times low considering the new H/C/I. I haven't tuned it or put it on the dyne so I really don't know my power band, the thing is there were stock GTs pulling just as good times with street tires. What do you think I can do to get some better times? Where should I shift at with the track heat? I have my timing set at 16, Tire pressure was at 12, fuel pressure at 41, leaving the line around 4k with some wheel hope.

·
Registered
470 Posts
We're 1/8 mile around here too, and it seems that most 1/8 milers run lower gears compared to what I see for comparable 1/4 cars. I think you could cut a good bit off if you went with lower gears (3.73-4.10) and launch a little harder. I think 60' is even more important for 1/8. I left at 5,00-5,500 w/3.73's and was able to get 1.60's with a stock motor and my P600.

·
Registered
371 Posts
95Looker: a few questions for you

Was that with the nitrous?

You say with some wheel hop? Curious as I have been drag racing with street tires, drs and slicks for 4 years with stock rear setup, I have never experienced wheel hop, EVER! Street or track. Cant fathom the wheel hop ??

When launching, after you dumped the clutch, did it bog out of the power band at all??

I know you know that power shifting will cut some ET off for sure, but I understand why you didnt.

What elevation are you running at? What track in CA?

BTW, what Isky cam are you running? How do you like it? Curious.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #4