Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally put some miles on my new block, around 3k (see sig) and I took her out yesterday to the track. This was probably my third time ever taking my car to the track so I'm pretty new to this drag racing. I ran some et drags 26x8 leaving around 4k. My best time was

R/T----.603
60'----1.971
330---5.839
1/8---8.884
MPH--78.91
N/A

I granny shifted around 6k since I still have the stock tranny and rear end. Are these times low considering the new H/C/I. I haven't tuned it or put it on the dyne so I really don't know my power band, the thing is there were stock GTs pulling just as good times with street tires. What do you think I can do to get some better times? Where should I shift at with the track heat? I have my timing set at 16, Tire pressure was at 12, fuel pressure at 41, leaving the line around 4k with some wheel hope.

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
It seems alittle slow. Whats the specs on that cam? Work on the reaction.
-tyler

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
I would think you'd be able to go around 82-84 mph. You may have more power in the tune. Your 60 ft is needs help too. Have you wieghed your car? You could be quite a bit heavier than most other Stangs out there with your car. You can play around with f.p and timing at the track, but a dyno tune and chip would be nice. Is the car bogging any at luanch?

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #4